Another year in music has passed which means the BRIT Awards will commence once again on Wednesday 22 February at The O2 Arena, London.

Like every year there are huge acts performing on the night and three of them have been revealed already. British acts The 1975, Emeli Sande and Little Mix are the first to be announced and for the lucky three, they are also nominated for some awards on the night.

brits

BRITs Chairman Jason Iley said: “Today we have confirmed three of the biggest artists to perform at the BRITs. They have not only sold millions of records but they are incredible live artists renowned for their memorable performances. We are incredibly excited to welcome them to the BRITs stage.

And as for those who are nominated for what category, here they are…

The code:

  • Want
  • Think

British Breakthrough Act

Anne-Marie
Blossoms
Rag’N’Bone Man
Skepta
Stormzy

The Breakthrough Act category is a little weird this year. Usually the acts nominated already have an album released or the BRITs wait till they have one but that doesn’t seem the case for some of the acts. For this one I’m routing for Skepta to win because he has technically broke through the most. It’s a public vote so it could be anyone’s award really. I wouldn’t mind Anne-Marie taking the award home either but since she doesn’t have an album yet, no one knows how much of an impact she will make without a big feature to her name.

British Female Solo Artist

Anohni
Ellie Goulding
Emeli Sandé
Lianne La Havas
Nao

I personally haven’t heard anything from Emeli Sande’s album at all and considering I consider myself a massive music fan, that kinda sums up to me how much impact she’s had on the British music scene in the past year. As for Ellie Goulding, I think her chance for this award was last year really, the same for Lianne although I’m thrilled she finally got some recognition. I would love Nao or Anohni to win since they released some of the best British albums last year period. I think Emeli will take the award home but they might go for a surprise like they did with Laura Marling like for years ago and go with the underdog of the category which is Anohni.

British Male Solo Artist 

Craig David
David Bowie
Kano
Michael Kiwanuka
Skepta

It’s been a very long time coming for Craig David but he really needs a BRIT Award. Especially for being robbed all those years back. He’s definitely been the comeback king this year and delivered a successful and one of his best albums in recent times. I think the win will go to Bowie though.

British Group 

The 1975
Bastille
Biffy Clyro
Little Mix
Radiohead

It’s no denying that Little Mix are the biggest pop band in the world right now and have been very consistent. I think it’s about time they got some real recognition since they’ve been killing it for some time now. However I think The 1975 are going to take the award which I wouldn’t be mad at. Amazing album, brilliant singles and huge live shows.

British Artist Video

Adele – ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’
Calvin Harris Feat. Rihanna – ‘This Is What You Came For’
Clean Bandit Feat. Sean Paul & Anne-Marie – ‘Rockabye’
Coldplay – ‘Hymn For The Weekend’
James Arthur – ‘Say You Won’t Let Go’
Jonas Blue Feat. Dakota – ‘Fast Car’
Little Mix Feat. Sean Paul – ‘Hair’
One Direction – ‘History’
Tinie Tempah Feat. Zara Larsson – ‘Girls Like’
Zayn – ‘Pillowtalk’

Another public vote award and I personally think anyone up against One Direction don’t have much chance. Judging from the videos alone I think that ‘Pillowtalk’ should take away the award. Although an ex-One Direction member, I don’t think his solo fan base alone is enough to take the award.

British Single

Alan Walker – ‘Faded’
Calum Scott – ‘Dancing On My Own’
Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna – ‘This Is What You Came For’
Clean Bandit feat. Sean Paul & Anne-Marie – ‘Rockabye’
Coldplay – ‘Hymn For The Weekend’
James Arthur – ‘Say You Won’t Let Go’
Jonas Blue feat. Dakota – ‘Fast Car’
Little Mix – ‘Shout Out To My Ex’
Tinie Tempah feat. Zara Larsson – ‘Girls Like’
Zayn – ‘Pillowtalk’

My favourite British single out of the bunch is Zayn’s ‘Pillowtalk’ but I think Little Mix might take away the award. I really am routing for Little Mix to take an award but if I’m honest, ‘Shout Out To My Ex’ isn’t my favourite Little Mix single released but if they do take away the award like I think they will, I will be relieved for them.

International Female Solo Artist

Beyoncé
Christine and the Queens
Rihanna
Sia
Solange

Potentially the strongest category of them all since I wouldn’t be surprised if any of them win and to be fair, in their own way they all have earned it. I personally want either of the Knowles sisters to take the award since I think they’ve released some of the best albums of their career but I think Sia or Christine will take the award and either one of them two will be there on the night to collect the award. I don’t think Rihanna has much chance this year if I’m honest compared to the others.

International Male Solo Artist 

Bon Iver
Bruno Mars
Drake
Leonard Cohen
The Weeknd

It’s Drake or The Weeknd’s award if you ask me and that’s who I’m really routing for. Potentially more The Weeknd because he had my favourite album of last year.

International Group

A Tribe Called Quest
Drake & Future
Kings of Leon
Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds
Twenty One Pilots

The category where I don’t care for anyone.I didn’t listen to A Tribe Called Quest, Kings oof Leon or Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds at all in the past year, I’ve only heard a few Twenty One Pilots songs and I didn’t like Drake & Future collab album.

Mastercard British Album of the Year

The 1975 – i like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it
Davie Bowie – Blackstar
Kano – Made In The Manor
Michael Kiwanuka – Love & Hate
Skepta – Konnichiwa

I would LOVE The 1975 to win this. They were one of my 10 favourite albums released last year and I really think the title should go to them but I could also see Skepta and Bowie get awarded for the award of the night too.

