Image

Lorde is a 16 year old musician from New Zealand.

Lorde’s music draws from electropop. But she grew up listening to soul musicians Etta James and Otis Redding, as well as her parents’ favourite records by the likes of Cat Stevens, Neil Young and Fleetwood Mac. She cites the unusual vocals of Grimes, the band Sleigh Bellsand producer SBTRKT as prominent influences for Lorde. She also stated that she was inspired by the initially hidden identities of Burial and The Weeknd, explaining, “I feel like mystery is more interesting” and called American musical artist Nicki Minaj an “important female in pop”.

People have compared Lorde to Lana Del Rey.

Lorde’s debut single ‘Royals’ has become a worldwide smash going to #1 in the UK, US and Canada. Her debut album ‘Pure Heroine’ has now been released worlwide and has made such an impact on the charts too. It went to #1 in Australia and New Zealand and so far peaked in the top 5 in the UK, US and Canada.

Image

Track by track review:

  1. Tennis Court – I know this isn’t probably her aim but this is very Lana Del Rey ‘Born To Die’ album mixed together. Not a bad thing at all, just feel like I’ve heard it before. 7/10
  2. 400 Lux – Instantly liked it. As soon as the beat kicked in I was sold. Great lyrics too. 8/10
  3. Royals – A grower. On first listen you question as to why this is such a popular song but its so catchy after about 3 plays. 8/10
  4. Ribs – Very magical and worldly. The song builds up very effectively. 8/10
  5. Buzzcut Season – Has a very chilled out vibe to the whole song. I like the instrumental but I feel its lacking that catchy effect to it. 6/10
  6. Team – The beat makes you want to clap throughout. Probably my favourite song on the album after two plays of the album. 9/10
  7. Glory and Gore – Very Lana Del Rey. Kind of a dark song with interesting lyrics. 7/10
  8. Still Sane – A little bland if I’m honest. Its not bad, neither is it anything special. Potentially one that will grow on me more. 5/10
  9. White Teeth Teens – Nice vocals, something different compared to the other tracks. She is showing her range on this track. Not a highlight track though. 6/10
  10. A World Alone – As soon as the album starts to get a little boring and repetitive she redeems herself with this track. Its relateable and the lyrics are amazing. She has really captured how most teenagers feel. 9/10

Overall album rating: 6.5/10

For a debut album of someone her age (16) she has proven that she has huge potential and talent. She may be a little Lana Del Rey, but this album does show herself as Lorde and not a Lana copy. The album is yet to really grow on me as an album I love and not just songs I like here and there. Even though I did rate a few of the songs quite high, I don’t believe this album is quite a 7 or 8 out of 10 just yet so its resting just under. I’m pretty sure this time next year this album would have grown on me and I would rate it higher.

