Random Access Memories is the fourth studio album by Daft Punk since 2005. The album was recorded between 2008 and 2012 and by May 22nd 2013 the album was released worldwide. The album which is critically acclaimed has a number of features on it including Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, DJ Falcon, Chilly Gonzales, Giorgio Moroder, Nile Rodgers, Paul Williams, and Pharrell Williams.

The albums influences came from famous albums such as ‘Rumours’ (Fleetwood Mac) and ‘The Dark Side of the Moon’ (Pink Floyd).

The lead single from the album ‘Get Lucky’ features vocals from US star Pharrell Williams. The single was released worldwide in April and so far has gone to #1 in over 20 charts including the UK where it is the biggest selling single of the year so far. It has also cracked the US Billboard Hot 100 top 10.

The album already been a big success within the first week going to #1 in 10 charts where it sold over 165,000 copies in the UK which made the album go Gold already. It is the fastest selling album so far of 2013 in the country too.


Track by track rating:

  1. Give Life Back To Music – 8/10
  2. The Game Of Love – 5/10
  3. Giorgio By Moroder – 7/10
  4. Within – 6/10
  5. Instant Crush – 8/10
  6. Lose Yourself To Dance – 7/10
  7. Touch – 6/10
  8. Get Lucky – 9/10
  9. Beyond – 7/10
  10. Motherboard – 7/10
  11. Fragments Of Time – 7/10
  12. Doin’ It Right – 9/10
  13. Contact – 7/10

Overall album rating: 7/10.

Across the board the album has received excellent reviews from many sources; NME – 10/10, Rolling Stone 4/5, Spin 8/10, The Independent 4/5, The Guardian 4/5.